Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are a devotion consisting of 14 incidents that mark the condemnation, crucifixion, death and burial of Jesus Christ. Each station represents an event that occurred during Jesus’ Passion and death at Calvary on Good Friday. The stations depict the journey of Jesus from his condemnation by Pilate to his being laid in the tomb. The 14 stations are marked by pictures, paintings, or carvings often arranged around the inside walls of churches. The Stations are often prayed during Lent, and may be prayed by individuals or groups. The prayer consists of passing from station to station and meditating on each incident through prayer and reflection. This devotion is a good way to walk with Jesus and meditate on his passion and to allow Jesus to walk with us in our daily lives and struggles.

Station 1 – Pilate Condemns Jesus to Death
Station 2 – Jesus Takes His Cross
Station 3 – Jesus Falls the First Time
Station 4 – Jesus Meets His Mother
Station 5 – Simon Helps Jesus
Station 6 – Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus
Station 7 – Jesus Falls the Second Time
Station 8 – Jesus Comforts the Women of Jerusalem
Station 9 – Jesus Falls the Third Time
Station 10 – Jesus is Stripped of His Garments
Station 11 – Jesus is Nailed to the Cross
Station 12 – Jesus Dies on the Cross
Station 13 – Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross
Station 14 – Jesus is Laid in the Tomb

Stations of the Cross based on those celebrated by Pope John Paul II on Good Friday 1991.

Stations of the Cross for children and families from the Passionist Missionaries:

Courtesy: Archdiocese of Boston;