Catholic Essentials

The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy
To feed the hungry
To give drink to the thirsty
To clothe the naked
To shelter the homeless
To care for the sick
To visit the imprisoned
To bury the dead

The Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy
To share knowledge
To give advice to those who need it
To comfort the suffering
To be patient with others
To forgive those who hurt you
To give correction to those who need it
To pray for the living and the dead

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit
Counsel/Right Judgment
Fortitude /Courage
Piety /Reverence
Fear of the Lord/Awe and Wonder

The Ten Commandments
The Ten Commandments are more than simply rules and laws. They are a foundation of moral teaching and shape our obligations as Christians in relationship to God. The Ten Commandments were given to Moses by God on Mt. Sinai after exiting Egypt. These Commandments were the rules that God expected the Hebrews to follow and they are also the rules that we are to follow. Today the teachings of the Ten Commandments are just as powerful and binding as they were when they were written.

1. I am the Lord your God. You shall not have strange gods before me
2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain
3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s day
4. Honor your father and your mother
5. You shall not kill
6. You shall not commit adultery
7. You shall not steal
8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor
9. You shall not desire your neighbor’s wife
10. You shall not desire your neighbor’s goods

The 2 Greatest Commandments

When asked which was the greatest of the commandments, Jesus responded with two. In this teaching of Jesus, these commandments complement each other and cannot be seen as existing apart from the other. The first is to love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, soul, mind and strength and the second is to love thy neighbor as thyself.

The Eight Beatitudes
These are teachings of Jesus during the Sermon on the Mount in which he describes the attitudes and actions that should characterize his disciples and followers. They can be seen as blueprints for living an authentic Christian life.

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.
Blessed are the meek: for they shall posses the land.
Blessed are they who mourn: for they shall be comforted
Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice: for they shall have their fill
Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy
Blessed are the clean of heart: for they shall see God
Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called children of God
Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice’ sake, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven

The Fourteen Stations of the Cross
Jesus is Condemned to Die
Jesus is Made to Bear His Cross
Jesus Falls the First Time
Jesus Meets His Mother
Simon Helps Jesus Carry His Cross
Veronica Wipes Jesus’ Face
Jesus Falls the Second Time
Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem
Jesus Falls the Third Time
Jesus is Stripped
Jesus is Nailed to the Cross
Jesus Dies on the Cross
Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross
Jesus is Laid in the Tomb

The Seven Last Words of Christ
Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do. (Luke 23:34)
Amen I say to thee: This day thou shalt be with me in paradise. (Luke 23:43)
Woman, behold thy son. . . .Behold thy mother. (John 19:26-27)
Eli, Eli, lamma sabacthani? (My God, My God, why hast Thou forsaken me?) (Matthew 27:46)
I thirst. (John 19:28)
It is finished. (John 19:30)
Father, into Thy hands I commend my spirit. (Luke 23:46)

Fruits of the Holy Spirit
Long suffering

Four Marks of the Catholic Church

Precepts of the Church
Assist at Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation, doing no unnecessary work on those days.
Confess serious sins at least once a year.
Receive Holy Communion frequently and, at a minimum, during the Easter Season.
Fast and abstain on appointed days and times.
Contribute to the support of the Church.
Observe the laws of the Church concerning marriage and give religious training to one’s children by word, example, and use of parish schools or religious education programs.
Join the missionary spirit and work of the Church.

Courtesy: Archdiocese of Boston;